Tor Arnesen is the new Chair of the ONS Board of Directors

Tor Arnesen has had an extensive career with Royal Dutch Shell and will also become Chair of the Board of A/S Norske Shell from 1 July 2017.

Tor Arnesen. Photo: Shell.

Tor Arnesen started his career with the Norwegian Petroleum Directorate prior to joining Shell in 1984. He has experience from several aspects of the business, and has held a number of leading positions within Shell, among them as Managing Director of A/S Norske Shell and as the company’s global EVP for HR Strategy.

“ONS is a top tier and globally recognised meeting place for everyone in the energy sector. As we are transitioning to a broader energy mix, we need to ensure continued competitiveness of the NCS and the energy sector. I am looking forward to make my contribution to how ONS can continue to play a significant role in stimulating how we shape the future, with more and cleaner energy,” Arnesen says.

New Member of the Board of Directors

Photo: Statkraft.

Thorhild Widvey is also joining the ONS Board of Directors.
Widvey has a long political career and served as Minister of culture from 2013 to 2015 and Minister of Petroleum and Energy from 2004 to 2005.
She is Chair of Statkraft’s Board of Directors and Member of the Board of Directors at Kværner ASA.


The new ONS board

  • Tor Arnesen (Chair)
  • Thorhild Widvey
  • Bjørg Tysdal-Moe, Stavanger Municipality
  • Hege Flatheim, Statoil
  • Ole Anders Lindseth, Ministry of Petroleum and Energy
  • Christian Rugland, Stavanger Forum
  • Mads Andersen, Norwegian Petroleum Society

The ONS Foundation would like extend our sincerest thanks to Arild Selvig and Knut Ørbech-Nilsen for their efforts as Chair and Member of the Board in the previous period.