Standing on the shoulders of giants: ONS’ Committees

ONS is supported and receives advise from six different committees, an International Advisory Board and an Innovation Award Jury. These national and international teams provide invaluable input year after year, making sure all ONS projects are relevant and unmissable.

Comprised by over 150 people, the ONS Committees include researchers, technical experts, entrepreneurs and top leaders across the energy community. In addition, they include representants from over 60 international energy companies and local institutions, almost 20 research centres and associations and 7 governmental institutions.

– ONS mirrors the energy industry. Through our global network of business and society leaders, innovators and politicians, we work to shape and influence the energy society of the future, says CEO and President of ONS, Leif Johan Sevland.

See all the Committees and members here

International Advisory Board

 With members from countries such as the UK, Brazil, USA, China and India, the International Advisory Board is a multi-cultural and cross-industry group of advisors that contribute to keeping ONS’ scope both global and inclusive.

Conference Committee

The Conference Committee is ONS’ largest committee. Comprised by top leaders, government representants, and private companies in the energy industry, this committee oversees and helps shape the ONS Programme.

– It’s by listening to input from others that together we will all – civil society, institutions and business – find innovative and sustainable solutions, says Conference Committee Chair Manouelle Lepoutre, SVP Civil Society Engagement at TOTAL S.A.

Young Committee

The Young Committee is comprised by enthusiastic young professionals working in financial, technical and leadership roles -both in start-ups and well-established companies in the industry. The Committee also counts with a representant from the University of Stavanger. It’s all about creating an including, fun and energetic scene for the young people in the energy sector.

Clean Energy Committee

ONS’ Clean Energy Committee is comprised by leaders and environment experts in the industry. Their mission is to help choose the theme and programme for the Centre Court arena at ONS, where industry representatives meet and discuss the way forward to a more sustainable, cleaner energy future.

ONS+ Committee

The ONS+ Committee is formed by professionals who provide support for ONS+: a scene which offers entertainment, gastronomy, concerts and sports to the local community. ONS+ is also an informal arena for debate, where ONS’ national and international visitors meet government representatives and the Stavanger region in general.

Communication Committee

The Communication  Committee consists of communication experts both from private companies such as Lyse, Wintershall Dea and Repsol Norway, and governmental institutions, such as the Norwegian Ministry of Oil and Gas and the Petroleum Safety Authority Norway (PSA). Their goal is to provide guidance and advise to ONS in order to keep an effective and transparent communication strategy with all audiences.

Technical Committee

The ONS Technical Committee is comprised by industry experts, and is in charge of identifying unsolved challenges in the industry and further on choosing the best solutions to be presented at ONS Technical Sessions.

– With our Technical Sessions, we wish to inspire and create an arena for technical insight and learning across companies and industries, explains Alv Bjørn Solheim, Managing Director at Wintershall Dea and Chair of the Technical Committee.

Innovation Award Jury

The Innovation Award Jury has representants from research centres -such as The Oil & Gas Technology Centre and the International Association of Oil & Gas Companies, as well as private companies, such as Aker BP or National Oilwell Varco. Their mission consists of choosing a deserving winner of the ONS Innovation Award, which has hundreds of applicants each edition.

– We look for those technologies that truly stand out to challenge us and move our industry forward, explains Tarjei Nødtvedt Malme, member of the Jury and Special Advisor at The Research Council of Norway.