ONS Innovation Award - deadline approaching!

The energy industry has a talent for re-inventing itself, over and over again. What are the emerging technologies that can change the energy industry?

Companies compete in two categories, one for large companies and one for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). In addition, the Special Innovation Award is presented to an individual or organisation that has played a significant role in the wider energy sector.

The portal for competing for the ONS Innovation Awards and for nominating a person or organisation for the Special Innovation Award is now open and can be found here.

·      The deadline for entry is 20 May 2018
·      The candidates are announced early June
·      Finalists are announced in August
·      The awards will be presented to the winners at the ONS Conference on Tuesday 28 August


ONS Innovation Awards in 2014: The award was presented by Minister of Petroleum and Energy, Tord Lien (left), to the winner of the SME Innovation awards, Fishbones.

Why join?

Several successful companies in the industry have been honoured with the ONS Innovation Award for their new products or solutions. ONS has given them the chance to show off their innovative projects to the global energy industry. Now the big question is who will win the ONS Innovation Awards in 2018. Let the competition begin!

Strong focus on technology at ONS

The ONS Innovation Awards reflect our long-standing commitment to presenting and promoting innovative ideas to the international oil, gas and energy industry. Companies exhibiting at ONS have consistently demonstrated that nothing is impossible. Technological progress continues to break new barriers, and ONS is proud to be a key venue for presenting this progress.

The ONS Innovation Awards are an important part of ONS. The high number of applications for these awards bears witness to the potential prestige for the winning enterprises. For ONS 2016 more than 130 entries from small and large companies were evaluated by the Innovation Jury.

The ONS Innovation Award jury 2018

Tarjei Nødtvedt Malme, Norwegian Research Council (Chair)
Ellen Braune, Wintershall Norge
Gordon Ballard, The International Association of Oil & Gas Producers (IOGP)
Anngjerd Plan, Siemens Norge
Trond Unneland, Energy Inc
Kalmar Ildstad, Norwegian Petroleum Directorate (NPD)
Heidi Fuglum, GEA Norway
Hege Kverneland, National Oilwell Varco