The ONS awards

We are proud of the esteemed awards presented at ONS, which are greatly appreciated by those who support the event. In this overview you find information about the awards, how the winners are chosen and lists of previous winners.

The following awards are handed out during ONS

  • ONS Innovation Awards
  • SME Innovation Award
  • Best Stand Award (Larger than 50 sq. m and smaller than 50 sq. m)
  • IOR prize – awarded by Norwegian Petroleum Directorate


ONS Innovation Awards

ONS promotes new and groundbreaking technologies and presents two awards in this category; the Innovation Award and the SME Innovation Award. Our innovation awards have launched many excellent and innovative ideas.

Read more about the innovation awards and see the previous winners.

Best Stand Award

The design of your stand, the presentation of your product/message and the service provided by your stand personnel can earn you the Best Stand Award. There are two awards in this category, one for stands larger than 50 sq. m, and one for stands smaller than 50 sq. m.

The jury will be visiting the exhibition incognito – so be prepared!

How to win the Best Stand award

Previous winners
– IGUS (<50 sq.m)
– Wintershall (>50 sq.m)
– Vestteknikk (<50 sq.m)
– Norwegian Petroleum Directorate/Ministry of Petroleum and Energy (>50 sq.m)
– Centrica (<50 sq.m)
– Gassco ( >50 sq.m)
– Welltec (< 50 sq. m)
– Talisman (> 50 sq. m)
– Statoil (larger than 50 sq. m)
– Latchways PLC (smaller than 50 sq. m)
2008 Statkraft
2006 ExxonMobil
2004 Verbundnetz Gaz
2002 Norske Conoco
2000 Universal Sodexho
1998 Aker Maritime
1996 Umoe
1994 Statoil
1992 Elf Petroleum Norge
1990 Alfa Laval
Harwell OffshoreTechnology Centre

The Distinguished Service Award

This award is presented to a person for distinguished service in working to promote the Norwegian petroleum sector, both domestically and internationally; for contributions towards enhancing the reputation of ONS, and for pursuing initiatives and activities linked to ONS events.

Previous winners

2018 Bente Nyland, Director General, NPD and Philip Lambert, CEO, Lambert Energy
2016 Lars A. Takla, previous Chairman of the Board
2014 Jostein Haukali, first Director of ONS
2012 Magne Ognedal, Director General of the Norwegian Petroleum Safety Authority
2010 Maury Devine, vice chair of DNV Board and Erik Jølberg, founder of Tess
2008 Gunnar Berge, chair of state owned Petoro
2006 Dr Burckhard Bergmann, chairman of the executive board of Germany’s E.ON Ruhrgas and Jim Mullva, president and CEO of ConocoPhillips
Mr.David Loughman, executive vice president, Shell Europe and Mr. Terje Vareberg, president and CEO Sparebanken 1 SR-Bank
Mr. Arne Rettedal, former mayor of Stavanger and minister of labour and local affairs and the late Mr. Henrik Ager-Hansen, former executive vice president.
Mr. Pete Silas, former president and CEO of Philips Petroleum Company
1990 Mr. Arve Johnsen, former president and CEO of Statoil
1988 Mr. Finn Lied, former Norwegian minister of industry

PSA Award

The PSA Award is presented jointly by the Petroleum Safety Authority Norway and ONS.

The PSA Award recognises notably outstanding efforts by persons or organisations making a major contribution towards improving safety and HSE standards. This award was not presented in 2014.

Previous winners
Statoil Marine
Vidar Bernt Sørensen – leader of the HMS24 program, Kårstø
2008 Petroleum Safety  Authority Norway – Gas leak project
Prof Torgeir Moan, Norwegian University of Science and Technology Contribution  to reduce major accident risks

The NPD prize for Improved Oil Recovery

The NPD prize for Improved Oil Recovery is a recognition of creativity, steadfastness and willingness to take risks when it comes to using methods and technology that could improve recovery beyond what can be expected with existing plans and methods.

The prize recipient will have the opportunity to present themselves during ONS.  Read more at the Norwegian Petroleum Directorate.

Young Professional Company Award

The Young Professional Company Award gave young professionals an opportunity to express their views on the future of the petroleum and energy industries. This award was not presented in 2014.

Previous winners
2012 ConocoPhillips
2010 Rystad Energy
2008 Norske Shell
2006 Norwegian Petroleum Directorate
2004 Det Norske Veritas (DNV)
2002 Det Norske Veritas (DNV)