A record 130 candidates for the ONS Innovation Awards

The energy industry is finding, exploring and creating new opportunities as ever before. At least according to the number of applications for the ONS Innovation Award. This year we received a record breaking 130 applications for our two innovation awards.

Through the Innovation Awards we recognise the crucial importance of cutting-edge products and solutions. The awards reflect our long-standing commitment to presenting and promoting innovative ideas to the international oil, gas and energy industry.

Of the 130 candidates, there are 72 competing for the SME Innovation Award and 58 for the Innovation Award.

ONS 2016 Innovation Award candidate

The awards ceremony is held at the conference session Long Term Perspective for NCS on day 2 of the conference.

Ladies and gentlemen of the jury

The jurors of the ONS Innovation Awards for 2016 consist of industry experts, R&D professionals and top executives. Together they’ll sift through the list of nominees and boil it down to about 20 finalists in each category.

PT6A1084[modified] (1)

The ONS Innovation Awards are an important part of ONS. The high number of applications for these awards bears witness to the potential prestige for the winning enterprises.




Here is the jury for the ONS Innovation Award 2016:

Siri Helle Friedemann, (Chair)
Director, Research Council of Norway.

Gordon Ballard,
Executive Director, IOGP International Association of Oil and Gas Producers.

Trond Unneland,
Senior Upstream Advisor, Chevron.
Kalmar Ildstad,
Chief Engineer, Norwegian Petroleum Directorate
Heidi Fuglum,
Vice President – Director of Product Line Management, Group Wide Technology, Aker Solutions

Hege Kverneland,
Corporate Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, National Oilwell Varco.

Anna Aabø,
Lecturer, Stavanger Offshore Technical School. Chair of the Board, Faculty of Science and Technology, University of Tromsø.

Arnljot Skogvang
Field Development Alvheim, Peik and Brynhild, Lundin Norway.

About the ONS Innovation Awards

The Innovation Award was first presented in 1982, and today companies compete in two categories, one for large companies and one for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). In addition, the Special Innovation Award is presented to an individual or organisation that has played a significant role in the wider energy sector.